the haiku diaries


January 31, 2015 by Rachel Dickinson
January 31, 2015, 11:02 am
Filed under: haiku, rachel's post | Tags:

3,500
is the number of haiku
I’ve written so far.

5 Comments so far
Leave a comment

Congrats. I’ve enjoyed following your work.

Comment by Jeff Schwaner

Interesting site. Have you considered adding some variety to your haiku — something other than strict 5-7-5? I think you will find your haiku taking on new dimensions, depth, and power!
Best of luck on your haiku journey! 🙂

Ron

Comment by Ron

I have thought about that, Ron. For some reason sticking with the 5-7-5 structure is the thing that sets me apart from serious haiku poets. I know it’s rigid and limiting and leads to some mundane haiku but I like the way it makes me think. I have started writing some longer poems as a way to explore.

Comment by Rachel Dickinson

Rachel, I would think your engaging, charming, and lighthearted style of writing and upbeat subject matter would, of itself set you apart from “serious haiku poets” if that’s the goal! I guess I don’t know the definition of a “serious haiku poet,” nor do I know by what authority “serious” and “non-serious” are decided. *g*

Having written and published haiku/senryu for over 30 years, I am very serious about my craft and frequently use the 5-7-5 form and will continue to do so. I’ve never considered the form as limiting, far from it. The 5-7-5 form often leads me into better word choices and more expressive sentences than I would otherwise have blundered across with other forms.

Would be honored to have you read my 2700 haiku on my haiku blog as a follower or visitor.

With Respect and Admiration,

Ron

Comment by Ron

Insightful post, Ron. Thanks. Going to look at your haiku now.

best,

Rachel

Comment by Rachel Dickinson




Leave a Reply

